Hebraica Macabi repeats as LUB champ

Hebraica Macabi

Hebraica Macabi has repeated as the champion of the Liga Uruguaya de Básquetbol (LUB), winning the title for the second consecutive year. The victory means the club won its second championship, joining Bigua Defensor Sporting and Malvin as the winningest clubs in league history.

The win came in commanding fashion as the Regular Season champs stunned Aguada 82-56 at home to sweep the best-of-seven finals series 4-0. Indeed, this title contest has never been in doubt as Hebraica Macabi stood above all competition.

However, Aguada looked fantastic in the first quarter and kept pace with the hosts for an enthralling 27-27 first quarter effort. It did not last as Hebraica surged in the second quarter with a combination of solid offence and stern defence. The defending champs took the frame 16-5 to make it 43-32 through the long break.

In the second half, the hosts retained the momentum and used a 21-15 third act run to make it 64-47 through thirty minutes. In the fourth quarter, Hebraica Macabi made sure of the win with an 18-9 run that closed the game in style.

Jaime Lloreda scored 29 points to drive the win, while Leandro Garcia-Morales claimed 26 points and 9 rebounds. Sebastian Izaguirre recorded a double-double of 10 points and 14 boards, while Luciano Parodi passed out 10 assists.

Demian Alvarez secured 14 points in the losing effort, while Jeremis Smith managed 9 points and 12 rebounds.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login