Halcones Obregon secure CIBACOPA title


Halcones de Ciudad Obregon is once again the champion of the Mexico Circuito de Baloncesto de la Costa del Pacífico (CIBACOPA). The franchise defeated Hermosillo 100-111 on the road in Game 6 to take the series 4-2 and cap of a dominant finals run.

Heromosillo had run away with the Regular Season this year, at the expense of Obregon in second place. However, Obregon showed its championship class in the deciding series and rarely looked in doubt through a high scoring five games.

Victory extends the franchise as the winningest in CIBACOPA history, adding a fourth title to its haul. Although, it was a return to winning ways for the club as it claimed its first crown since 2007. Over the last decade, Obregon fans watched Hermosillio and Tijuana take all the glory, but now the franchise is back at the top.

Rayos de Hermosillo had home advantage, but could only stay on the coattails of the series leaders in the first half. At the long break, Halcones led 45-48 and had drained 32 points in the opening frame. In the second half, the visitors continued to turn the offensive screw in the second half and extended through the third and fourth acts to victory.

It was a strong performance from the field as the new champs drained 60.3 percent of all their efforts. Blitzing performances from beyond the arc allowed Halcones to secure 12 triples on over 50 percent accuracy.

Glen Rice Jr. was hot for the winners with a triple-double of 28 points, 18 rebounds, and 17 assists. Joseph Hutchinson secured 26 points, while Kevin Capers and Raul Delgado made 18 points apiece.

Jeremiah Wilson managed a double-double of 28 points and 14 boards in the losing effort, followed by Myke Henry with 18 points. Steve Monreal also doubled up with 15 points and 11 assists.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login