FIBA Asia Champions Cup schedule announced

FIBA Asia Champions Cup

The international basketball season is coming to a close with EuroBasket 2017 and we are returning to club hoops with the FIBA Asia Champions Cup. As the eyes of global basketball look back to clubs, FIBA has announced the schedule and competing teams for the 2017 season.

Each year, teams from around Asia compete in the FIBA Asia Champions Cup, testing themselves over a week and a half to become the best club team on the continent. This season, the Asia Champions Cup will be held in Chenzhou, China and will tip off on September 22 before ending on September 30.

As always, 10 clubs will take their place at the tournament, representing 10 nations. This year, the Philippines gained a wildcard entry after Japan withdrew. The Philippine contingent will be Chooks To Go, although the roster will be built from players in the domestic league.

Group A will host the Philippines, alongside BC Astana (Kazakhstan), Mono Vampire BC (Thailand), Sarreyet Ramallah (Palestine) and Petrochimi (Iran) in Group A.

Group B will include reigning champs China Kashgar, Al Riyadi of Lebanon, Dacin Tigers of Chinese-Taipei, ONGC of India, and Al Shabab Al Ahli of the United Arab Emirates.

The competition format dictates both Group A and Group B will operate under a single round robin to decide four teams from each group to progress to the knock-out stage. Each of the four teams from Group A will meet an opponent from Group B in the quarter-finals, to decide the Final Four.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.