Spain wins FIBA U18 European Championship 

Spain defended their FIBA U18 European Championship crown after defeating Turkey 68-61 in the Final on Sunday.

Spain won the title three years ago and is now back-to-back champs.

Spain was in control for most of the contest as they gradually broke away from late in the first to lead by as many as 14 points in the second half. The hosts were not about to give in – coming back from a 20-point deficit in the Semi-Finals – and they opened the fourth with a 7-2 run to close the gap.

However, Spain managed to keep them at bay as an incredible passage ensued that saw Izan Almansa and Berke Buyuktuncel trade big plays in consecutive possessions. Rafael Vilar hit the dagger from beyond the arc with 1:18 remaining and finished with a game-high 20 points.

Spain’s Almansa was named the tournament MVP, with Buyuktuncel joining his rival in the All-Star Five. There were also spots for Lithuania’s Paulius Murauskas, Ilija Milijasevic of Serbia, and Israel point guard Noam Yaacov. 

Spain wins FIBA U18 European Championship

Meanwhile, Serbia won the battle for bronze as they edged out Slovenia in a 70-67 triumph as Djordje Curcic led the way with 21 points. Serbia returned to the podium after back-to-back title successes in 2017 and 2018, with a 12-1 run in the fourth proving pivotal.

France secured the final ticket to next year’s FIBA U19 Basketball World Cup as they recorded a 66-56 success against Italy to ensure a top-five finish. Kymany Houinsou put up 20 points, seven rebounds, seven assists, and three blocks, with Zacharie Perrin also starring with 14 points and 18 boards.

Elsewhere, Lithuania eased past Israel 89-64 to take 7th place as Paulius Murauskas dropped 32 points. Poland cruised past the Czech Republic in a 76-39 battle for 9th, and Germany overcame Greece to win 74-67 in the 11-12 Classification Game.

Croatia defeated North Macedonia 72-59, while Great Britain avoided bottom place with a 78-74 victory over Montenegro behind 26 points from Latrell Davis, with both sides playing in Division B next summer.

Final Standings

1. Spain
2. Turkey
3. Serbia
4. Slovenia
5. France
6. Italy
7. Lithuania
8. Israel
9. Poland
10. the Czech Republic
11. Germany
12. Greece
13. Croatia
14. North Macedonia
15. Great Britain
16. Montenegro

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.