San Lorenzo clinches historic Liga A title

San LorenzoSan Lorenzo clinched the Argentine Liga A title with a 87-81 victory in Game 4 over La Union Formosa, marking the club’s first ever league success. The history making title comes at the end of a finals series dominated by Sam Lorenzo, with the club sweeping to victory with a 4-0 series win.

Game 4 proved to be closer than the dominant San Lorenzo win of Game 3, yet the new champs rarely looked troubled as they wrote a new chapter in Argentine Basketball history.

The winners picked up ten more rebounds than La Union (39 to 29), while the game was decided from the bench where San Lorenzo managed 17 points compared to Formosa’s 10 points.

During the first quarter that teams traded baskets in the middle minutes, before San Lorenzo opened the scoreboard to lead 23-20 at the first split. In the second frame the hosts drained 24 points and stopped La Union at 19 to extend the lead to 47-39 through the long break. The deficit was extended further as the home team all but wrapped the game with a 23-19 third act, the score now reading 70-58. La Union rallied in the fourth quarter, but the visitors could not cut the gap enough and San Lorenzo cruised to victory.

Walter Herrmann continued his impressive series with a double-double of 19 points and 13 rebounds in the victory, a haul that guaranteed him the finals MVP. Nicolas Aguirre claimed 17 points for the champs, while Matthew Bryan-Amaning score 14 points, and Lucas Faggio 10 points and 6 assists.

Three players stepped up big time for La Union, but to no lasting effect. Alexis Elsener scored 24 points, and Torin Francis scored 21 points and grabbed 9 boards. Winsome Frazier scored 14 points and 7 rebounds.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.