Pinar Karsiyaka Izmir crowned 2015 TBL champs

Pinar Karsiyaka IzmirPinar Karsiyaka Izmir won Game 5 of the Turkish Basketball League finals series to be crowned the 2015 TBL champions. The club celebrates its second title and collected the all-important 71-85 win on the road in Istanbul against Anadolu Efes. Of course, Efes is the most successful club in TBL history (although chasing its first title since 2009) and was favoured in this championship series, however Karsiyaka has been in solid form all season and showed it in the finals.

Indeed, since Anadolu Efes won game one, Pinar Karsiyaka Izmir has not looked back and reeled off four consecutive wins to wrap up a first title since 1987. This has been among the tightest finals series in recent years, but Game 5 proved to be different as Karsiyaka eased to victory.

A blistering first quarter opened the contest in front of Efes’ home fans, the teams traded buckets through the period and locked 24-24 through ten minutes. The baskets cooled in the second frame as Karsiyaka started to dominate the posts, using a 14-17 winning stanza to lead 38-41 during halftime. The visitors carried that momentum through the third act and it made the difference as Karsiyaka plundered 26 points and held Anadolu Efes to 12 points, enough for a sizeable 50-67 lead through the final split. Efes managed to reclaim some pride in a winning fourth quarter, but the guests were able to hold firm and ease to victory.

Juan Palacios was a double-double hero for the title winners with 22 points and 10 rebounds, while D.J. Strawberry scored 19 points in the victory. Jon Diebler and Kenny Gabriel notched 12 points apiece, with the latter also grabbing 8 off the glass.

Stratos Perperoglou topped Anadolu Efes with 18 points, followed by Thomas Huertal with 14 points and Stephane Lasme with 11 points and 7 boards.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login