Panathinaikos A.O. Repeat As Greek A1 Champions

Panathinaikos The 2017-18 Greek A1 season has come to a close. After the dust settled, Panathinaikos A.O. downed league rivals Olympiacos S.F.P. Pireus 84-70 in Game 5 of the finals to claim the Greek League championship. As expected, this epic battle between the league’s top Titans went the distance of the full five-game series. This is an amazing back-to-back victory for Panathinaikos A.O, which saw its longest streak of titles span from 2003 to 2011.

Olympiacos was in control of the game early on. They secured a four-point advantage as both clubs headed to their respective locker rooms for the halftime break. Panathinaikos A.O. would change the narrative and the complexion of the game, outscoring Olympiacos 29-15 in the third frame. Panathinaikos pushed their advantage in the paint, converting on 21-of-39 shots from two-point range. Chris Singleton was a beast on the glass with 17 rebounds and nine points. Mike James led the victors with a game-high 18 points. Depth came into play in this game. Panathinaikos’ reserves outscored Olympiacos’ 37-11. Jamel McLean paced Olympiacos with 16 points and seven rebounds.

Panathinaikos A.O. remains the Lords of the Greek A1 League for now. Expect Olympiacos to come back strong in 2018-19, further fueling this rivalry.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login