Oberwart Gunners lift Austrian title

Oberwart GunnersOberwart Gunners is the new champion of the Austrian Bundesliga after clinching a finals series sweep against WBC Raiffeissen Wels. It was the second title success in Oberwart’s history following the 2011 win and it thwarted Raiffeissen’s attempt at a first Bundesliga crown.

The Oberwart Gunners also stand as a new champion after two years of dominance from Gussing Knights. Game 3 of the series was a procession as the Gunners showed their clear superiority with a 63-82 win on the road.

WBC Raiffeissen Wels vs. Oberwart Gunners, 63-82

Oberwart was the better team all over the court, picking up more rebounds (38-30), handing out more assists (13 to 8), and producing more points from the bench (31 to 17 points). Telling for home team was 26 personal fouls committed, allowing the champs to secure plenty of free points. The writing was on the wall early in the game and the guests led from start to finish, using a 9-23 winning first quarter to drive the win.

The hosts responded well in the second half by scoring 21 points and keeping the Gunners at 15 points, but the visitors led 30-38 through the long break. Oberwart found a rhythm again in the third quarter, using an 11-21 run to make it 41-59 through thirty minutes. A high octane fourth quarter saw both teams pepper the bucket, a fitting end to the season as Oberwart claimed the title.

Chris McNealy hit 21 points in the win and helped himself to the MVP award, while Derek Jackson added 18 points and Quincy Diggs grabbed 12 points.

Thomas Csebits topped the losing effort with 22 points, followed by DeJuan Wright with 15 points.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.