NBA: LeBron James named MVP

LeBron James

NEW YORK — LeBron James of the Miami Heat is the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2012-13 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player, the NBA announced today. James earns the honor for the second consecutive year and the fourth time in five seasons. The only other player to win the award in four of five seasons is Bill Russell (1961, 62, 63, 65), and the only other players to win at least four regular-season MVPs are Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (six), Michael Jordan (five), Russell (five) and Wilt Chamberlain (four).
James totaled 1,207 points, including 120 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 voters that consisted of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada as well as an MVP fan vote. For the fourth consecutive season, the NBA and Kia Motors America gave fans the opportunity to submit their votes by ranking their top five choices through a dedicated Web page on The fan vote counted as one vote and was compiled with the 120 media votes to determine the winner. Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five for each third-place vote, three for each fourth-place vote and one for each fifth-place vote received.

Rounding out the top five in voting are Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant (765 points), the New York Knicks’ Carmelo Anthony, (475 points, one first-place vote), the Los Angeles Clippers’ Chris Paul (289 points), and the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kobe Bryant (184 points).

James, who led the Heat to a league-best and franchise-record 66-16 mark, was the only player in the NBA to lead his team in scoring (26.8 ppg), rebounding (8.0 rpg) and assists (7.3 apg). He shot a career-high from the field (.565) and from three-point range (.406). He produced a record streak of six straight games with at least 30 points and a .600-or-better field goal percentage (Feb. 3-12). Additionally, James led the NBA score differential (+9.5) and player impact estimate (22.1 percent), according to

James scored 2,036 points, in the process becoming the youngest player in NBA history to post eight different 2,000-point seasons, and the youngest player to reach the 20,000-point plateau. Additionally, he became only the third player in NBA history to total at least 2,000 points, 600 rebounds, 500 assists and 100 steals during a single season, and only the second player to do so more than once after eclipsing those totals in 2008-09. Larry Bird accomplished the feat three times (1984-85, 1985-86 and 1986-87) and Jordan achieved it once (1988-89).

The winner of five Kia NBA Player of the Month honors in 2012-13 (October-November, December, January, February, and March), James became the first player in NBA history to receive the honor in five straight months during a single season. He was named Player of the Week five times (Nov. 11, Nov. 18, Dec. 23, Feb. 10, and March 24).

The NBA MVP trophy is named in honor of the late Maurice Podoloff, the first commissioner of the NBA who served from 1946 until his retirement in 1963.

As part of its support of the Most Valuable Player Award, Kia Motors America (KMA) will donate a new 2014 Kia Sorento LX CUV to the Akron Public School After School Program benefitting the Wheels for Education Program. This marks the fourth new vehicle that Kia Motors has donated to charity on behalf of James, including previous donations to the Urban League of Akron (2009), the SUMMA Foundation (2010), and the Akron Public School After School Program benefiting the Wheels for Education Program (2012). Kia Motors presented a Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five 2012-13 season-end award winners as part of “The Kia NBA Performance Awards.” Following this season, Kia Motors has now donated a total of 26 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA’s prestigious season-end honors began in 2008.

The 2012-13 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called “The Kia NBA Performance Awards.” The series, currently in its sixth season, is part of a multiyear marketing partnership between KMA and the NBA, and includes five of the league’s most prestigious season-end honors: Most Valuable Player Award, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man Award, Most Improved Player Award, and Rookie of the Year. For the first time, the series also included the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Rookies of the Month during the regular season. Kia Motors is the Official Automotive Partner of the NBA and the Kia Optima is the league’s Official Vehicle. For more information on “The Kia NBA Performance Awards” visit


Season – Player, Team

1955-56 – Bob Pettit, St. Louis

1956-57 – Bob Cousy, Boston

1957-58 – Bill Russell, Boston

1958-59 – Bob Pettit, St. Louis

1959-60 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia

1960-61 – Bill Russell, Boston

1961-62 – Bill Russell, Boston

1962-63 – Bill Russell, Boston

1963-64 – Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati

1964-65 – Bill Russell, Boston

1965-66 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia

1966-67 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia

1967-68 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia

1968-69 – Wes Unseld, Baltimore

1969-70 – Willis Reed, New York

1970-71 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee

1971-72 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee

1972-73 – Dave Cowens, Boston

1973-74 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee

1974-75 – Bob McAdoo, Buffalo

1975-76 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles

1976-77 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles

1977-78 – Bill Walton, Portland

1978-79 – Moses Malone, Houston

1979-80 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles

1980-81 – Julius Erving, Philadelphia

1981-82 – Moses Malone, Houston

1982-83 – Moses Malone, Philadelphia

1983-84 – Larry Bird, Boston

1984-85 – Larry Bird, Boston

1985-86 – Larry Bird, Boston

1986-87 – Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers

1987-88 – Michael Jordan, Chicago

1988-89 – Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers

1989-90 – Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers

1990-91 – Michael Jordan, Chicago

1991-92 – Michael Jordan, Chicago

1992-93 – Charles Barkley, Phoenix

1993-94 – Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston

1994-95 – David Robinson, San Antonio

1995-96 – Michael Jordan, Chicago

1996-97 – Karl Malone, Utah

1997-98 – Michael Jordan, Chicago

1998-99 – Karl Malone, Utah

1999-00 – Shaquille O’Neal, L.A. Lakers

2000-01 – Allen Iverson, Philadelphia

2001-02 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio

2002-03 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio

2003-04 – Kevin Garnett, Minnesota

2004-05 – Steve Nash, Phoenix

2005-06 – Steve Nash, Phoenix

2006-07 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas

2007-08 – Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers

2008-09 – LeBron James, Cleveland

2009-10 – LeBron James, Cleveland

2010-11 – Derrick Rose, Chicago

2011-12 – LeBron James, Miami

2012-13 – LeBron James, Miami

1 Comment

  1. Tin on May 6, 2013 at 10:34


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.