Metros de Santiago wins Dominican LNB

Metros de Santiago
Metros de Santiago tightened its grip on the Dominican LNB with a 101-91 win over Caneros De La Romana in the finals series. It has been a tight finals which went to a decisive seventh game, but Metros upped their game to secure a second consecutive LNB title, repeating as champion after 2014’s success. Indeed, the franchise remains the only one in league history to pick up back-to-back titles, a feat Metros de Santiago also managed from 2006 to 2007.

This fourth LNB success means Metros move further ahead as the winngest franchise in the league’s short ten year history. While both teams looked evenly matched in defence through the decider, the hosts were superior in most areas in offensce. Metros de Santiago grabbed more offensive boards (11 to 5) and dished out more scoring passes (17 to 8) while breaking 100 points for third time in the finals run.

Metros started the game well and found plenty of joy at the bucket early on, picking up 31 points through the first quarter while holding Caneros to 23 points. The opening frame proved to be the catalyst for success, but the visitors pulled back the reigning champs in the second quarter to tie 16-16, making it 47-39 through halftime. The hosts were on course after the long break and won a high scoring third stanza 30-26 to extend the lead to 77-65 at the final split. Caneros tried to rally in the fourth act and picked up its first winning quarter 24-26, but it was not enough and Metros cruised to the win late on.

Victor Liz topped the winning effort with 26 points, while Peter Ramos stood out with a double-double of 22 points and 13 rebounds. Robert Glenn added 11 points for Metros and Joel Ramirez was good for 10 points.

Three players played a big part in keeping Caneros in the contest. Sam Young was brilliant as he amassed 29 points and 9 boards, followed by Kelvin Pena with 24 points and Reyshawn Terry with 22 points.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login