Levski Sofia are 2013-14 Balkan League champs

Levski Sofia

Bulgarian team BC Levski Sofia are the 2013-14 EUROHOLD Balkan League champions after beating Israeli club Galil Gilboa, 69-75 in the Finals. They were back to back finalists in 2012 and 2013. This is their second Balkan League title. The last time they raised the trophy was in 2010. This win was extra sweet for Levski as their defeats in the two previous years were at the hands of Galil Gilboa, whose aspirations for a three-peat performance they have now dowsed.

The first period was a stalemate as both teams managed to evenly exchange baskets, 19-19. Levski Sofia turned up their energy levels in the second frame and were able to go into halftime with an eight-point advantage. After the break, Galil Gilboa went on the offensive and cut the lead to just two points. With everything hanging on the line and boiling down to the fourth quarter, Galil Gilboa took the lead with less than three minutes left to play thanks to a three-point shot nailed by Tony Younger. A few more exchanges were slowed after two of Levski Sofia’s players managed to head to the line in quick succession, converting seven free throws to secure the lead. Galil Gilboa was able to cut the lead once again to a manageable five-point margin with 34 seconds on the clock. Thanks to made free-throws and then a blocked shot on the other end of the floor by Jumaine Jones, Levski Sofia was able to secure the win.

Levski Sofia’s top performer for the night was Lionel Chalmers who turned in a double-double with 17 points and 11 boards. Jumaine Jones finished with 14 and Brandon Heath added 11 points for the red shirts.

Rick Jackson led Galil Gilboa with 17 points and eight rebounds. Amit Simhon contributed 14 and Kenny Boynton chipped in 11 for the boys in blue.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.