Bryant repeats as Beko BBL MVP

John Bryant

John Bryant repeats as Beko BBL Most Valuable Player
Sebastian Machowski is the Coach of the Year

As he was at the end of the Beko BBL 2011-12 season, John Bryant of ratiopharm Ulm has been voted the BBL’s MVP for the 2012-13 season. The voting is done by a group of head coaches, team captains, and select media representatives that cover the German BBL. Bryant’s 149 points outdistanced the rest of the field substantially as runner-up Anton Gavel of Brose Baskets received 93 points and Jared Jordan of Telekom Baskets Bonn earned 34 points. Since the introduction of the ‘expert panel’ of voters, this is the first time there has been a repeat MVP.

“This is a great honor for me,” said Bryant of the award. “I want to thank all those who voted for me.”

Bryant was also named to the Beko BBL First Team along with Gavel, Jordan, Rickey Paulding of EWE Baskets Oldenburg, and Deon Thompson of Alba Berlin. This is the third consecutive year that Bryant has been named to the First Team and second time that Paulding has earned the award, as he previously was named to the BBL First Team in 2008-09.

Adding to his awards haul, Bryant was named the Beko BBL’s Offensive Player of the Year, while Gavel earned the Beko BBL Defensive Player of the Year Award.

The Beko BBL Coach of the Year for 2012-13 was award to Sebastian Machowski of EWE Baskets Oldenburg. Machowski earned 100 points in the voted, compared to Thorsten Leibenath of rationpharm Ulm’s 65 points, and Ingo Freyer of Phoenix Hagen, who picked up 43 points.

“I am very honored,” commented Machowski, “I understand the award especially as a tribute to the work of the coaching staff and the entire team. It is a great pleasure to see our work is recognized by our colleagues in the league.”

Beko BBL 2012-13 Award Winners:
MVP – John Bryant (ratiopharm ulm)
Offensive Player of the Year – John Bryant (ratiopharm ulm)
Defensive Player of the Year – Anton Gavel (Brose Baskets)
Coach of the Year – Sebastian Machowski (EWE Baskets Oldenburg)
German Youth (U24) Player of the Year – Dennis Schroeder (New Yorker Phantoms Braunschweig)
Most Improved Player of the Year – Dennis Schroeder (New Yorker Phantoms Braunschweig)

Beko BBL-All-First-Team
Point Guard: Jared Jordan (Telekom Baskets Bonn)
Shooting Guard: Anton Gavel (Brose Baskets)
Small Forward: Rickey Paulding (EWE Baskets Oldenburg)
Power Forward: Deon Thompson (ALBA BERLIN)
Center: John Bryant (ratiopharm ulm)

Beko BBL-All-Second-Team
Point Guard: Tyrese Rice (FC Bayern München)
Shooting Guard: Davin White (Phoenix Hagen)
Small Forward: Reggie Redding (WALTER Tigers Tübingen)
Power Forward: Chevon Troutman (FC Bayern München)
Center: Adam Chubb (EWE Baskets Oldenburg)

Live Scores

Live Odds

Latest News