Guaros win Venezuelan LPB


Venezuelan Basketball has a new champion after Guaros de Lara won the 2017 Liga Professional de Baloncesto (LPB) title. The franchise demolished Marinos de Anzoátegui 100-72 in front of its home fans in Game 6 to take the finals series 4-2. Victory was also historic as Guaros won its first ever title to become the seventh franchise to win the competition.

This finals series has also been a David vs. Goliath match up. In one corner was Guaros de Lara hunting its first championship. In the other corner was Marinos, the winningest team in Venezuelan hoops with 11 titles.

As it was, Guaros was too strong through the series, and that was evidenced by a cruising Game 6. The hosts were dominant in the hot zone, grabbing 60 points in the paint compared to Marinos 30 points. Guaros also claimed 10 more rebound than their opponents and dished out seven more assists.

Nate Robinson and Zach Graham paced the victory with 18 points apiece, while Luis Bethelmy dropped 15 points. Lazar Hayward offered 11 points and 8 rebounds. Gregory Echenique and Nestor Colemenares both scored 8 points and grabbed 10 boards each.

Jesus Centeno topped the losing effort with 15 points.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.