4th FIBA Asia Stankovic Cup begins Friday

On Friday, Sept. 14, 10 Asian teams will begin play in the 4th FIBA Asia Stankovic Cup at the new Ota City Gymnasium (pictured above) in Tokyo, Japan. This year’s competition will serve as a qualifier for the 27th FIBA Asia Championship in 2013, which is the Asian qualifier for the 2014 FIBA World Cup.

Lebanon won the 2010 competition with a 97-59 drubbing of Japan in the finals.

The teams are divided into two groups and will play each other once, with the top four in each group qualifying for the quarter-finals.

The participating teams are:

East Asia: China, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Macau
South East Asia: Philippines
South Asia: India
Central Asia: Uzbekistan
Gulf: Qatar
West Asia: Iran, Lebanon

Team W L Pts GA
Lebanon (LIB)
Macau (MAC)
Philippines (PHI)
Uzbekistan (UZB)
China (CHN)
Games – Sept. 14
11:30 Macau – Lebanon
16:30 Philippines – China

Team W L Pts GA
Iran, I.R (IRI)
Chinese Taipei (TPE)
Qatar (QAT)
Japan (JPN)
India (IND)
Games – Sept. 14
14:00 India – I.R. Iran
19:00 Japan – Qatar


  1. willy on September 13, 2012 at 14:24

    China Win, 2nd Iran, 3rd Lebanon…. No doubt.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.