FIBA Asia Cup 2017: China and Iran faces new challenges

FIBA Asia Cup 2017The group phase of the FIBA Asia Cup 2017 begins today and excitement is bubbling among fans of Asian hoops. Lebanon is hosting the event this year and the tournament will run from August 8-20. Since 1999 every Asian Championship has been won by either China or Iran. China is the defending champion from 2015.

This year will come with its own set of unique challenges thanks to some changes made by FIBA Asia. Australia and New Zealand from Oceania are joining the rest of the 14 Asian teams in what should be a highly competitive tournament. Regular contenders, Philippines, South Korea and Jordan will also look to intensify the already tight race for the gold.

Here is a look at the four groups.

Group A

Iran, Jordan, Syria, India

Group B

Iraq, China, Philippines, Qatar

Group C

Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Korea, New Zealand

Group D

Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Australia

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.