Euroleague: 16 teams announced for revised format 2016/2017 season

The teams participating in the 2016/2017 Euroleague season have been named, with 16 elite European clubs making up the competition field. The new season will usher in a change to the competition format, with less teams competing from the start.

However, less teams means more quality, and for the 2016/2017 campaign the Euroleague will truly be a league. Replacing the group stage is a round robin where each club will play 15 games home and away against the other teams.

Organizers say this is a first for international Basketball competitions and is designed to make the Euroleague even more exiting.

The 16 teams named are:

Anadolu Efes Istanbul (Turkey)
Brose Bamberg (Germany)
Crvena Zvezda Telekom Belgrade (Serbia)
CSKA Moscow (Russia)
Darussafaka Dogus Istanbul (Wildcard) (Turkey)
EA7 Emporio Armani Milan (Italy)
FC Barcelona Lassa (Spain)
Fenerbahce Istanbul (Turkey)
Galatasaray Odeabank Istanbul (Turkey)
Laboral Kutxa Vitoria Gasteiz (Spain)
Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv (Israel)
Olympiacos Piraeus (Greece)
Panathinaikos Athens (Greece)
Real Madrid (Spain)
Unics Kazan (Russia)
Zalgiris Kaunas (Lithuania)
*Galatasaray’s participation is dependent upon completion of the necessary registration requirements and documentation review by the Management Control Commission.

Among the clubs is reigning champions CSKA Moscow, while the field also comprises of seven other clubs with a previous Euroleague title under their belt. This prestigious lineup includes Maccabi FOX Tel Aviv, Olympiacos Piraeus, Panathinaikos Athens, Real Madrid, EA7 Emporio Armani Milan and Zalgiris Kaunas.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login