Eurocup Draw for next season announced

EurocupThe 2015/2016 Eurocup is still a few months from tipping off, but we now know who will square off in the group phase. The teams to comprise groups A through F were drawn today at a live event in Barcelona.

It promises to be as close as ever in the Eurocup next season with four of the clubs making up 7 of the last 13 titles. There is plenty of quality deep into the groups so expect there to be a lot of action and changes throughout the opening phase. 36 clubs from 15 countries will start the competition and play six team round robin groups over 10 rounds.

From the group phase the top four from each table will progress to the Last 32, where they will be accompanied by 8 losing clubs from the Euroleague. Over six rounds the eight groups of four clubs will find two clubs to progress to the two game aggregate decided Eighthfinals. The competition will close with traditional quarter-final, semi-final, and final rounds.

Group A: CEZ Nymburk, Dominon Bilbao Basket, Union Olimpija Ljubljana, JSF Nanterre, Telekom Baskets Bonn, Dolomiti Energia Trento

Group B: ALBA Berlin, Herbalife Gran Canaria Las Palmas, Telenet Ostend, Le Mans Sarthe Basket, Grissin Bon Reggio Emilia, Enel Basket Brindisi

Group C: Valencia Basket, CAI Zaragoza, ratiopharm Ulm, SLUC Nancy, Proximus Spirou Charleroi, Umana Reyer Venice

Group D: Unics Kazan, Banvit Bandirma, Trabzonspor Medical Park, Buducnost VOLI Podgorica, Aris Thessaloniki, Steaua CSM EximBank Bucharest

Group E: Besiktas Integral Forex Istanbul, Lietuvos Rytas Vilnius, Zenit St. Petersburg, Avtodor Saratov, PAOK Thessaloniki, Szolnoki Olaj

Group F: Galatasaray Istanbul, Nizhny Novgorod, Krasny Oktyabr Volgograd, Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem, AEK Athens, Neptunas Klaipeda.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login