Den Bosch wins Dutch league in style

Den BoschSPM Shoeters Den Bosch is the new champion of the DBL (Dutch Basketball League) after overcoming reigning champ Donar Groningen 85-64 in Game 5 of the finals series. The clubs clashed in Den Bosch as the home team looked to wrap up the title in style. Shoeters achieved that with a comfortable win that ensured a 4-1 finale in a series the club has dominated.

The title was the sixteenth for Den Bosch and enhanced its position as the most successful team in Dutch Basketball, the previous 15 coming when the league was called Eredivisie.

While Shoeters Den Bosch eventually romped to victory, it was Groningen with the better start as the away team went on a 5-16 run before making it 20-30 after ten minutes. In the second quarter the hosts came to life and used a 10-3 flurry to cut the deficit to 36-40 at halftime. In the third quarter the momentum had shifted and Den Bosch overturned the lead and took charge through thirty minutes, the score reading 59-52. The hosts shifted a gear in the fourth act and drained 14 points without reply to ensure an easy stroll through the closing minutes.

Brandyn Curry topped the title winning effort with 26 points, while Kees Akerboom added 24 points, and Chris Denson 11 points.

Lance Jeter paced Groningen with 13 points, followed by Ross Bekkering’s 12 points, and Bill Clark with 12.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login