Bayern Munich wins first BBL since 1955

Bayern Munich
Bayern Munich claimed the German BBL to become the new champion after a 62-75 triumph over ALBA Berlin on the road. The victory marked Bayern’s first BBL title since 1955 and capped what has been a very good finals series and season for the Bavarian club.

The team marched to a 3-1 series win to ensure a place in next season’s Euroleague, a competition the club is eager to get back to after surprising many during this campaign. Munich overcame a shaky first quarter in ALBA’s O2 World arena to cruise through the second half backed by strong scoring from downtown. Berlin struggled from outside the arc, netting just 3 from 18, while Bayern Munich looked more fluid with 12 from 25 triples heading to the scoreboard.

ALBA Berlin vs. Bayern Munich, 62-75
Bayern has impressed throughout the finals series as the club looked to end nearly 60 years without a German league title. However, in Game 4 it was ALBA who found a rhythm in the first quarter, edging the guests by two points to hold a slender 15-13 lead after 10 minutes. Munich responded well in the second quarter as ALBA struggled to find scoring consistency, the Bavarian outfit sent home 20 points to snatch a 30-33 halftime lead. Berlin remained in contention in the third frame, but the Bayern defence was not letting in too many plays. The visitors extended through the period to lead 48-53 after 30 minutes of play. ALBA’s spirit was waning in the face of a resilient Bayern Munich performance and the hosts failed to claw back the game in the fourth quarter, allowing Bayern to romp to victory.

Deon Thompson was Bayern’s pace setter with 18 points, while Bryce Taylor logged 16 points and 9 rebounds in a stellar offensive and defensive performance. Munich’s Malcom Delaney was named the finals MVP.

Leon Radosevic gave ALBA Berlin hope with a game high 22 points, but no other players from the team scored double figures to back him up.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.