Basketball New Zealand announces post-season honors

Table of Contents

Jess Bygate was named MVP of the league after leading her team, the Nelson Sparks, to the 2012 New Zealand Women’s Basketball Championship recently. The Sparks, 2011 runners-up, made easy work of the Waitakere West Auckland in the championship game, 61-40, with Bygate contributing 10 points and 12 rebounds during the contest. Joining Bygate on the All-Tournament team were teammates Jodi Kikuroa and Nikki Rampton, along with Saraya Umaga-Jensen of Otago Oceana Goldrush, and Rotorua Vols’ Aroha Jennings, who was also the tournament’s leading scorer.

2012 Women’s Basketball Championship
WBC Championship Winners – Nelson Sparks
WBC Plate Winners – Waikato Wizards
MVP of the Year – Jess Bygate (Nelson Sparks)
WBC All-Star Five – Jess Bygate (Nelson Sparks), Jodi Hikuroa (Nelson Sparks), Aroha Jennings (Rotorua Vols), Nikki Rampton (Nelson Sparks), Soraya Umaga-Jensen (Otago Goldrush)
YMCA Junior Player of the Year – Stella Beck
Studio 23 Coach of the Year – Tatjana Zizic
Manager of the Year – Julie Harris
Service to Women’s Basketball – Aik Ho

Latest News