Basketball Champions League Regular Season field complete

The Basketball Champions League Qualifiers just ended, and the exciting prospect of taking part in the Regular Season became a reality for four additional teams joining the sixth edition of the competition.

After Kalev/Cramo (EST), Nutribullet Treviso (ITA), and U-Banca Transilvania Cluj Napoca (ROU) yesterday, Prometey (UKR) won their ticket this evening to advance to the group stage of the Regular Season starting on October 4.

With 32 participating teams from 18 different countries, the BCL equals its participation record from last year. The participating teams will include nine current and 15 former national champions and a new country (Estonia) to ever participate in the Regular Season of the Basketball Champions League.

The groups are distributed as such:

Regular Season (alphabetically)

Group A: Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA), Lenovo Tenerife (ESP), MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg (GER), Prometey (UKR)

Group B: Arged BM Stal Ostrów Wielkopolski (POL), BAXI Manresa (ESP), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR)

Group C: JDA Dijon (FRA), Lavrio Megabolt (GRE), Nizhny Novgorod (RUS), Unicaja (ESP)

Group D: AEK (GRE), Falco Szombathely (HUN), Nutribullet Treviso (ITA), VEF Riga (LAT)

Group E: ERA Nymburk (CZE), Galatasaray Nef (TUR), Igokea (BIH), PAOK mateco (GRE)

Group F: Filou Oostende (BEL), Kalev/Cramo (EST), SIG Strasbourg (FRA), Tofas Bursa (TUR)

Group G: Darussafaka Tekfen (TUR), Hapoel U-net Holon (ISR), Happy Casa Brindisi (ITA), U-Banca Transilvania Cluj Napoca (ROU)

Group H: Besiktas Icrypex (TUR), EWE Baskets Oldenburg (GER), Hereda San Pablo Burgos (ESP), Rytas Vilnius (LTU)

The Regular Season consists of eight (8) groups of four (4) teams each, with games played on a home and away basis and in a round-robin format. The first-placed teams in each group will qualify directly for the Round of 16 phase. The second and third-placed teams will face each other in a Play-In round to qualify for the Round of 16.

The action will tip off on October 4 and conclude with the Final Four on May 13-15, 2022.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.