Asesoft Ploiesti repeats for 4th consecutive Romanian title

Asesoft PloiestiAsesoft Ploiesti romped to a fourth consecutive Liga Nationala title to be crowned champions of Romanian Basketball once more. The club won Game 3 of its finals series against BC Targu Mures 76-86 to ensure a sweep and to claim an eleventh Liga Nationala overall.

After edging the regular season, Asesoft Ploiesti has eased through the play-off stage and with two big home wins so far in the finals, the club needed an away win to complete the picture. With Targu Mures needing the home win to keep its title hopes alive, the scene was set for a tense hoops contest. However, while the hosts made a go of it through the first half, Ploiesti pulled away in the second with stunning three point scoring.

The defending champs drained 16 from beyond the arc while hitting 53.3% from downtown range. It did not go well for Ploiesti in the first quarter though as Mures secured a 21-18 lead over the course of the opening exchanges. In the second period the visitors found more consistency in the paint and reclaimed the lead to hold a 35-37 lead at halftime. Triples rained in the third act as Ploiesti bested the home team with a 22-25 run that made it 57-62 through thirty minutes. In the fourth quarter the champs kept pouring in from distance to ensure a 19-24 winning frame that meant the title goes back to Ploiesti for another year.

Marius Runkauskas was an attacking force in the win as he scored 22 points and laid on 8 scoring passes. Catalin Burlacu nailed 17 points, while Chris Cooper added 11 points.

Kyndall Dykes and Ousmane Barro paced Targu Mures with a game high 24 points, while Barro also added 9 rebounds. Filip Adamovic was good for 11 points in the losing effort.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.