7DAYS EuroCup regular season draw made

7DAYS EuroCup

Unicaja Malaga’s victory over Valencia in the 2017 7DAYS EuroCup final will live long in the memory, but as always, the competition moves on. We are now looking ahead to the 2017/2018 campaign and the first step towards next season’s finale was announced today.

The draw for the 7DAYS EuroCup regular season was made in Barcelona on Thursday. This coming season, there will be 24 teams competing for Europe’s second most prestigious titles. One of them will be crowned the champion of the 16th edition of the EuroCup in this format.

12 nations are represented across the 24 clubs that will line up when the regular season tips off this fall. Among them will be five former champions looking to add to their haul of titles. There are also some giants on board, with two former Turkish Airlines EuroLeague champions lining up at the start of the season.

During the draw, the 24 clubs were divided into four groups (Group A to Group D) comprising six teams each. This gives the clubs the knowledge of who they will face during the regular season, which runs from October 11 (game day 1) to December 27.

Regular season games will be contested during the weekdays every week except for 20th and 27th November. During the group stage, the teams will play for advancement to the Top 16, which will hold the four best team from each regular season group. The Top 16 phase runs from January 3, 2018 to February 7.

The Top 16 is split into four groups of four teams, where a round robin of six games will decide the best two teams to progress from each group.

Leaving the Top 16, the remaining 8 teams will contest the quarterfinal playoff series. This stage will introduce knockout hoops to the 2017/2018 7DAYS EuroCup season and will be played as a best-of-three series.

Each winning quarterfinal team will make it to the final, beginning on March 20, and the winners of these the final on April 10. Both stages will also be played as best-of-three series. As usual, the winner of the 2018 7DAYS EuroCup will be given automatic qualification to the 2018/2019 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague season.

2017/2018 EuroCup draw:

Group A: Unics, Darussafaka, Cedevita, Turin, Andorra, Levallois
Group B:
Galatasaray, Bayern Munich, Hapoel Jerusalem, Grissin Bon RE, Lietkabelis, Buducnost
Group C:
Lokomotiv Kuban, ALBA Berlin, Lietuvos Rytas, Bilbao Basket, Limoges, Partizan
Group D:
Gran Canaria, Zenit, Tofas Bursa, Trento, Ratiopharm Ulm, ASVEL.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login