Shahrdari Tabriz bags 2017-18 Iranian League Title

Tabriz¬†Shahrdari Tabriz defeated Mahram Tehran 85-73 in Game 5 of the 2017-18 Iranian Basketball Super League (IBSL) Finals to claim the organization’s first title. The league was founded in 1998 and is widely regarded as one of the most competitive in Asia.

They finished second at the end of the regular season with a 12-4 record. Tabriz’ road to the Finals was not easy. They swept Yes All Gorgan in the Quater-finals but were pushed to the limit in the semis, needing the full five-game series to put away Naft Abadan.

Jourdan Demuynck paced the champions with a game-high 26 points.¬† Mahram’s Jacob Pullen led his team with 25 points of his own.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.