Oostende wins 2015 Belgian League Title


Telenet BC Oostende have been crowned the 2015 Belgian Scooore League champions! This is their fourth-consecutive crown and 16th title overall. They defeated Belfius Mons-Hainaut 59-71 in Game 4 of the Finals series. This was a fitting climax to Oostende’s dominant 2014/15 season. They managed to suffer only four losses out of 30 games during the regular season. Both Okapi Aalstar and Mons-Hainaut finished at a distant second with identical 17-13 records. Oostende had put together a solid team this season and the defending champions were primed for a strong campaign to defend their title this year.

Game 4 came as an easy win for Oostende which dominated all throughout the contest. They led from the get-go and did not let up. Their excellent execution on offense combined with some savvy defense allowed Oostende to run over Mons-Hainaut in this affair. At the end of the first frame Oostende carved out a slim four-point lead, 16-20. As the halftime whistle sounded, however, the guests managed to extend their lead to 31-44.

When the team’s returned to action, Oostende was all business and they turned up their defensive intensity even more. Mons-Hainaut was struggling to buy a basket for the whole quarter. From there the slope downhill only got steeper for the hosts and their fans helplessly knew that it was a matter of minutes til their opponents would be crowned the 2015 champions.

Dusan Djordjevic led a balanced attack for Telenet Oostende. He spearheaded the offense with his 17 points and six assists. Even though he was the only one who scored in double figures for his team, many of his teammates managed to contribute. A big difference in the rebounding numbers was a big factor in their win. Oostende grabbed 33 rebounds compared to Mons-Hainaut’s 18. Jason Love was the best performer for Mons-Hainaut with 14 points.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login