Maccabi Tel Aviv Wins The Israeli Winner League Title

Israeli Winner LeagueMaccabi Tel Aviv proved victorious in the Israeli Winner League final, after stomping Hapoel Holon in a 95-75 blowout on Thursday. This is a jubilant climax to what was once a season in jeopardy. The 2017-18 Winner League was at risk of abruptly ending at the hands of a player strike. Thankfully, the league officials and the Players Association reached an agreement, averting what could have been an epic crisis. This story found its happy ending and Maccabi Tel Aviv became the shining stars at its conclusion. This caps off a successful 2017-18 season for Maccabi Tel Aviv. They finished as the regular season champions with a 23-10 record and also bagged the Israel Winner Cup. Yes, they were indeed the league’s best team and they came through in the end.

This game boiled down to Maccabi Tel Aviv’s dominance in the paint. Two of their starters ended the night with double-double performances. Alex Tyus dropped 15 points and 10 boards. DeAndre Kane flirted with a triple-double, scoring 10 points, 10 rebounds and six assists. The team recorded 48 total rebounds, compared to 30 by Hapoel Holon. Six yellow shirts scored in double figures, led by the 18 points of Jake Cohen. Their balanced offense proved to be enough to overcome a game-high 20 points by Hapoel Holon’s Tu Holloway.

The defensive superiority of Maccabi Tel Aviv was evident in this victory. They recorded 11 steals and five blocked shots to keep Hapoel Holon struggling on offense. They took advantage of every mistake Hapoel Holon made and rode away with the win.

Israeli hoops is alive and well. Maccabi Tel Aviv are the 2018 champions. The story goes on. On to 2018-19.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login