Kouvot Crowned 2016 Korisliiga Champions

Kouvot Kouvot Kouvola has claimed its fourth Finnish Korisliiga championship after defeating Pyrinto Tampere, 100-76 in Game 5 of the league Finals series. The last time the team held the title was back in 2004. Their other titles were in 1995 and 1999. Despite finishing third in the regular season standings this 2015-16, the team found a way to end strong and had an excellent run in the playoffs.

Game 5 was an impressive display of dominance by Kouvot. They led Pyrinto from start to finish and were in control of the game all throughout its duration. They came out with their guns blazing in the first quarter, rushing to 33-19 advantage at its completion and did not look back.

Their on-point three-point shooting in this game played a pivotal role in their ability to create a big gap in the score. They finished the game shooting a solid 16-of-37 from downtown, outgunning Pyrinto which managed to knock down seven of their 18 shot attempts from deep.

Six of Kouvot’s players ended the game scoring in double figures. D.J. Richardson and David Gonzalvez paced the team with 20 and 19 points, respectively. Both players each drained four triples to fuel their scoring output. Pyrinto had to answers. J’Nathan Bullock was the top scorer for Pyrinto with 14 points.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.