Karhu Kauhujoki wins 2019 Finnish League Title

Karhu Kauhajoki are the 2019 Finnish League champions! They defeated Kouvot Kouvola 90-84 in Game 5 of the finals. This was an impressive title defense for the club as they bag their second Korisliiga title in as many seasons.

Finnish League

Karhu got off to a hot start and controlled the game and was able to end the first quarter with a 29-24 lead. The second quarter would see a slow down in the action as both teams amped up their defense. This worked to the advantage of Kouvot, who were able to trim the lead of Karhu down to one point by halftime.

Kouvot stayed in command after the break and eventually swung the lead in their favor. But after all that, Kouvot had just a slim two point lead with just one final quarter remaining. In the fourth, Karhu found their game and turned things up once again. They mounted a big run and ran away for the win in the end.

Karhu took down this game thanks to big games from three of their players. Rene Rougeau, Christopher McKnight and Cameron Jones all scored 20 points each in a balanced attack. Greg Mangano chipped in 16 points as the fourth player to score in double figures. Their tight rotation allowed for their key players to stay in a flow throughout the game.

For Kouvot, Jeremy Morgan and Thomas Gipson scored 24 points each.

Karhu is hot right now, securing back-to-back championships in the Finnish League. Are they up for three-peat performance and build a dynasty in 2019-20? They are on the right track. They will be staying on it and following through with the success they’ve found over the last couple of seasons.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.