Golden State Warriors win 2015 NBA Championship

Golden State Warriors

Cleveland, Ohio – The Golden State Warriors are the 2015 NBA Champions after a 105-97 victory over the Cleveland Cavaliers in Game 6 of the Finals series. The Warriors have ended a 40-year championship drought are elated to take home the gold. Andre Iguodala got seven out of 11 votes to be named the series “Most Valuable Player.” Ever since coach Steve Kerr decided to insert him into the starting lineup, Iguodala has made a huge impact, allowing his team to cruise to victory. Andre is the first recipient of the award not to start in all of the games in the finals. He scored 25 points in this game, along with five rebounds and five assists.

The Warriors’ small-ball system in the series had yet to be cracked by the Cavs, so they came out and decided not to fix that which wasn’t broken. Cleveland’s big men were able to take better advantage of their mismatches in the paint in this game. Tristan Thompson and Timofey Mozgov joined LeBron James in putting up double-double performances. James, despite looking spent, did his best to lead his team in this game with 32 points and 18 rebounds. Mozgov added 17 points, 12 boards, and four blocks; while Thompson chipped in 15 points and 13 rebounds.

In the end, it was Golden State’s small(er) players that pulled it through for them. Stephen Curry matched Iguodala’s 25 points. He added six rebounds and eight assists. Forward, Draymond Green had a fantastic triple-double with 16 points, 11 boards and 10 assists.

And that’s it. The 2014/15 NBA season has now come to a close. The Warriors are the champions. Will they repeat next season, or will another team emerge and raise the trophy over the heads?

You must be logged in to post a comment Login