FIBA AmeriCup Qualifiers in “bubble” format

Table of Contents

The second window of the FIBA AmeriCup 2022 Qualifiers will be played in a “bubble” format from November 27 to December 1, 2020.
FIBA Americup

As a result of the health protocols due to the COVID-19 pandemic, FIBA has decided to return to competition in a “bubble” format. That allows for a more controlled and secure environment for teams to compete. This format will also facilitate implementing governmental Sanitary Protocol required by many countries across the America’s zone.

Each of the chosen venues will host national teams that make up each group of the FIBA AmeriCup 2022 Qualifiers:

  • Buenos Aires, Argentina (Group A & B): Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela, Brazil, Panama, Paraguay, and Uruguay.
  • Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Group C): Canada, Cuba, Virgin Islands, and the Dominican Republic.
  • A final confirmation on the host country for Group D that includes Bahamas, United States, Mexico, and Puerto Rico will be sent out in the next few days.

FIBA will soon release the schedule of the group matches.

The top three teams from each group will qualify for the FIBA AmeriCup 2022.

Latest News