Fenerbahce Turkish Champion

Fenerbahce Beko Istanbul is the Turkish League champion! They beat Anadolu Efes Istanbul 80-92 in Game 4 of the finals.

It was the 10th time that Fenerbahce won the Turkish league title, and for the first time since 2018, getting a 3-1 victory in the best-of-five series. Jan Vesely led the winners with 18 points on 9-of-10 two-point shots. Nando De Colo added 17. Marko Guduric had 16 while Melih Mahmutoglu got 13 for Fenerbahce, which outrebounded its opponent by 22-34. Chris Singleton and Tibor Pleiss led Efes with 17 points apiece. Vasilije Micic, Elijah Bryant, and Shane Larkin each added 10 for the reigning back-to-back Turkish Airlines EuroLeague champion.

Tarik Biberovic got Fenerbahce started with a three-point play, and Vesely added a couple of jumpers for a 6-9 lead. Pierria Henry struck from downtown, then Guduric had 8 points in an 0-9 run that boosted the guests’ lead to 10-24 late in the first quarter. Bryant Dunston and Singleton tried to change things for Efes, bringing their team within 19-30. Larkin stepped up from Efes, joining forces with Pleiss to give the hosts hope, 35-41, at halftime. Singleton struck from beyond the arc to make it a one-point game, 42-43, soon after the break. De Colo, Vesely, and Henry gave Fenerbahce fresh air, 50-57, soon after that. The guests found a new go-to guy Melih Mahmutoglu, who helped his team regain a 61-70 margin after 30 minutes. Devin Booker followed an alley-oop slam with a jumper that made it a 13-point game, 68-81, and Fenerbahce never looked back in the final 6 minutes.

Fenerbahce Turkish Champion

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.