Dino Radja in Basketball Hall of Fame

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced that Croatian Dino Radja will be enshrined as part of the 2018 class.

The 50-year-old Dino Radja becomes the fourth Croatian (and 14th European) to enter the Basketball Hall of Fame after Dražen Petrović (2002), Krešimir Ćosić (1996), and coach Mirko Novosel (2007). Our website also voted Dino Radja among the 15 best European players of all time.

Dino Radja was born and raised in Split and was considered one of the greatest European players of his generation. He was a member of the Jugoplastika Split team of the late 1980s and early 1990s, in which he helped to win two EuroLeague titles. In addition, he also played four seasons for the Boston Celtics.

Dino RadjaDino Radja joined the Celtics in the summer of 1993 and was immediately voted to the NBA All-Rookie Second Team, along with fellow Croatian Toni Kukoč, who was at that time a rookie with the Chicago Bulls.

Over the course of his four seasons with the Celtics, Radja averaged 16.7 points and 8.4 rebounds per game in the regular season. In the NBA playoffs, where he only made a single appearance, with four games played, he averaged 15.0 points and 7.0 rebounds per game.

Dino Radja also played for the Yugoslav National Team along with players like Vlade Divac and Drazen Petrovic. ESPN later made a basketball documentary about that team, called “Once Brothers.”

The Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony will take place on 7 September 2018 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

The 2018 Naismith Hall of fame class is:

Ray Allen

Maurice Cheeks

Lefty Driesell

Grant Hill

Jason Kidd

Steve Nash

Dino Radja

Charlie Scott

Katie Smith

Tina Thompson

Rod Thorn

Ora Mae Washington

Rick Welts

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.