Danish Ligaen: Bakken Bears are back on top

Danish LigaenThe Bakken Bears defeated Horsens IC 81-73 in Game 5 of the finals series to win the 2017 Danish League championship. The win marks the 13th championship for the organization. Horsens IC took Game 1 of the series but the Bears regrouped and went on an impressive four-game run to eventually raise the trophy above their heads. This is a fresh chapter in the rivalry between these two teams. Horsens IC have claimed the last two league titles (2015, 2016) but prior to that, the Bakken Bears had a four-year dynasty from 2011 to 2014.

The game was close at first, with both teams tied at 22-22 at the end of the first quarter. The game opened up in the second frame when the Bakken Bears surged ahead by seven points by the end of the first half. After the break, they built on their lead. With one last quarter left in regulation, Horsens IC was starting at an 11-point deficit. They fought hard in the fourth quarter but it was not enough to turn things completely in their favor, with the Bakken Bears holding on for the win.

The Bears got a huge game from Devaughn Akoon-Purcell who dropped a game-high 25 points. John Williamson added 15 points and Michael Diouf chimed in with 14 points and 11 rebounds. Lawrence Alexander led Horsens IC with 19 points.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login