ABA League to launch second division in 2017/18

ABA League The ABA League is taking the next step in improving and strengthening basketball in the region. The ABA League assembly met on July 24th and decided to start a Second Division, which is set to launch for the 2017/18 season. The league will be composed of 12 teams. 10 teams have already been announced and they are Krka, Rogaska, Split, Bosna, Zrinjski, Dynamic, Borac Cacak, Teodo, Lovcen, and Ohrid.

The remaining two slots will be filled after two qualification tournaments. The first tournament will be between three teams: Mladost Mrkonjic Grad, Siroki Brijeg, and Sloboda Tuzla. The winner will move on to participate in the second tournament.  Three teams have already been announced as participants: Primorska, Vrsac, and Sutjeska. The second will take place on September 27-29. The top two placing teams in the second tournament will go on to join the ABA League Second Division.

The winner of the Second Division in 2017/18 will join the First Division in the 2018/19 season.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login