ABA 2 starts tomorrow in a bubble

The 2020/21 ABA 2 (Adriatic League 2nd division) season will officially start on Monday, November 9, with 14 teams trying to win the prestigious trophy and advance to ABA 1.

As you all already know, the following ABA 2 season will be significantly different than the previous ones due to the current COVID-19 situation.

The 2020/21 regular season will be split into three tournaments with two tournaments featuring four rounds and the last one five rounds. The 2020/21 regular season will be played in a round-robin system, and after 13 rounds the 8 top-placed teams on the standings will enter the Playoffs, while the 4 bottom-placed teams will end up in Playout.

ABA 2 league

The first tournament will occur between 9 November and 18 November 2020, and the host will be Čajetina Municipality and KK Zlatibor (Serbia).

The ABA 2 season will include 14 teams, and here are the names of all participants: Borac Banja Luka, Gorica, Helios Suns, Lovćen 1947 Bemax, Mladost Zemun, MZT Skopje Aerodrom, Podgorica, Rabotnički, Široki, Sloboda Užice, Spars Realway, Studentski centar, Sutjeska, and Zaltibor.

Several teams are newcomers in ABA 2 competition, including Borac Banja Luka, Gorica, Mladost Zemun, Podgorica, Rabotnički, Sloboda Užice, Studentski centar, and Zlatibor.

What is important to know ahead of the first out of three regular-season tournaments is that from Monday to Friday, there will be 3 games in the daily schedule (13:00, 17:00, 21:00), while during the weekend 2 games will be played each day (11:00, 15:00).

The winner of the 2020/21 ABA 2 season will advance to the 2021/22 ABA 1 season.

The runner-up of the 2020/21 ABA 2 season will play against the 13th placed team of the 2020/21 ABA 1 regular season in the Qualifiers for a spot in the 2021/22 ABA 1 season.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.