12 fewer teams to play in Eurocup 2014-15


There will be only 36 teams in Eurocup 2014-15. That’s 12 fewer teams compared to 48 participants in the 2013-14 season. The reduction in the number of participating teams  is the basic change to be implemented in the new system for the upcoming season. The Eurocup format change was approved by the Euroleague Commercial Assets Executive Board on March 31, and will be presented for ratification by the ECA Shareholders on July 9.

As announced on the Eurocup website the breakdown of the 2014-15 competition will be as follows:

The 2014-15 Eurocup Regular Season will feature six groups of six teams each playing 10 round-robin games, with teams divided into two regional conferences in order to reduce travel times and costs for participants. The best four teams in each regular season group will again be joined in the Eurocup Last 32 by the eight teams that did not qualify for the Turkish Airlines Euroleague Top 16. They will be divided into eight groups of four, again playing in a round-robin format that gives each team six more games. As such, two-thirds of the Eurocup teams starting the season will play at least 16 games. From there, the Eighthfinals, Quarterfinals, Semifinals and Finals – consisting of two-game, home-and-away elimination series between pairs of teams – will be played in order to decide the 2014-15 Eurocup Champion, who in turn will qualify for the 2015-16 Turkish Airlines Euroleague.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login